Skip Navigation

General Reapportionment Information

The Saginaw County Apportionment Commission is responsible for establishing County Commission districts within the County every 10 years after the census has been completed. 

Full text of the law can be found here:

A summary of the Apportionment Commission can be found below:

  • Within 60 days after the publication of the latest United States official census figures, the county apportionment commission in each county of this state shall apportion the county into not less than 5 nor more than 21 county commissioner districts as nearly of equal population as is practicable.
  • The number of county commissioners is based on county population. A county population of over 50,000 may have no more than 21 commissioners.
  • The county apportionment commission shall consist of the county clerk, the county treasurer, the prosecuting attorney, and the county chairperson of each of the 2 political parties.
  • A majority of the members of the apportionment commission shall be a quorum sufficient to conduct its business. All action of the apportionment commission shall be by majority vote of the commission
  • The business which the apportionment commission may perform shall be conducted at a public meeting held in compliance with the Open Meetings Act.
  • In apportioning the county into commissioner districts, the county apportionment commission shall be governed by the following guidelines in the stated order of importance:
    • All districts shall be single-member districts and as nearly of equal population as is practicable.
    • All districts shall be contiguous.
    • All districts shall be as compact and of as nearly square shape as is practicable.
    • No township or part thereof shall be combined with any city or part thereof for a single district, unless such combination is needed to meet the population standard.
    • Townships, villages and cities shall be divided only if necessary to meet the population standard.
    • Precincts shall be divided only if necessary to meet the population standard.
    • Residents of state institutions who cannot by law register in the county as electors shall be excluded.
    • Districts shall not be drawn to effect partisan political advantage.
  • The apportionment plan approved by the commission shall be filed in the office of the county clerk at which time it shall become effective.
  • Any registered voter of the county within 30 days after the filing of the plan for the county may petition the court of appeals to review such plan to determine if the plan meets the requirements of the laws of this state.
  • If the apportionment commission has failed to submit a plan for its county within 60 days but not less than 30 days after the latest official census figures are available or within such additional time as may be granted by the court of appeals for good cause shown on petition from the apportionment commission, any registered voter of the county may submit a plan to the commission for approval.
  • Once an apportionment plan has been found constitutional, that plan shall be the official apportionment plan for the county until the next United States official census figures are available.

Committee Information


Adopted Map

Proposed Maps

Documents from Former Reapportionment Commission